Fan Site for Valkyria Chronicles 3

Happy New Year Comrades.

Image

Hello everyone,

This might be my last post for a while as I am quite busy these days.  I am glad that the many of you enjoyed our translation English patch that we’ve worked so very hard on over the past 2 years.  It is hard to balance out such a project with real life responsibilities.  I gave up some of my hobby time (playing games / watching movies) so that I could meet the December 25 2013 self-imposed deadline.  I wanted to make the game playable in English as much as I could because after this date, I have no clue as to when I will have time or for how long our team will be able to update our patches.  For now at least, we are on break and it is a well-deserved one.

The original translations were not always clear and can be extremely stilted, but that is of no fault to the translators — it is simply the first pass of a long process.  People tend to think that once something is translated it can be put into the game and we can be done with it.  This simply isn’t true.  The editing process is crucial and requires multiple passes to get it right.  Even so, sometimes things slip by as time goes on and we make changes to the files.  Some text might get reverted, or our new edited text changes the spacing and then previous time spent play testing has to be done all over again.  In short, it is a very time-consuming process. I personally want to support SEGA to make more VC games (so please buy the E2 version now for only 980yen in the Japanese PSN store) and especially want to support VC gaming community, who like me, was extremely sad that an official localization was dropped.  I know what it is like, when I was young, I played Shining Force III for the Saturn, and SEGA never released those additional 2 (3 if you count the bonus disc) sequels that completed that story line.  VC3 is quite the special game and it is a diamond in the rough in my honest opinion.  

I wanted to let you know some of the details of how the translation came about. My goal was to make a bridge between VC1 and VC2 terminology.  Battle or personal potentials, game interface, orders, etc, all follow VC1 terminology whenever possible.  Thus, we use “Occupy” rather than “Capture” and things like medal section follow the style of VC1 as well.  However, certain game-play elements were introduced into VC2 and so follow that terminology instead. Thus commands like “Inspiration” which boosts squad morale and the Fencer class and their weapons match with VC2 terms.  I am not sure if the original VC2 localization team had the time to check or not, but I noticed they often re-invented the terms for their own localization purposes (menu commands, names of the medals, etc).  I don’t hold it against them, and as VC3 exists as bridge between those two games, I also intended the text to reflect this.

For the really observant players that have played the original Japanese version, our patched version has actually improved some of the shortcomings of the Master Table feature. This feature was pretty useless in the original game, as it never told you how to get the high or super potentials and all of the text was white on a whitish background.  In our version, it has been color coded and new details have been added  to the status bar below to explain how to unlock those special class based battle potentials. Another tricky localization choice was in the Ace names. You see, the Japanese text translates a bit differently that what is in our English patch to be honest.  However, this is not a bad thing because again it acts as a bridge to VC2.  You see some of the Ace names in VC2 exist in VC3 but when the VC2 localization team translated them the names slightly changed (artistic liberty..again I see it as their right).  Thus the names have been set to match the VC2 names when possible.  This is not the first time localization differences occurred.  From VC1, the Squad 7 member, Homer Peron is actually Homer Pieroni. No idea why they changed his name, but to match his sister Leila correctly, we also changed her name to Peron.

There are more tidbits and untold stories behind this massive English translation patch effort, but for now I hope you all support SEGA with a PSN purchase or UMD, and enjoy the game in English. Happy New year to you all. “Akemashite omedeto gozaimasu, kotoshi mo yoroshiku onegaishimasu.”

 

Comments on: "Happy New Year Comrades." (18)

  1. Booger Smoot said:

    Thanks again for taking the time to do this great project. You and your team are great!

  2. Really impressive work! You did the series a great service by making the third episode available to English-speaking audiences. Thank you.

  3. CnrZelgiustheSilverShadow said:

    Thanks a bunch! You guys did an amazing job and I appreciate it a lot, was it not for you guys I would not have been able to play this game at all. Have a great 2014 and goodluck with any on-going stuff and stuff to come. Keep up the good work you guys.

  4. I just got VC3: Extra Edition, and I was super stoked to see that an english patch has been made for it!

    This may be a silly question, but is there a tutorial of some type on how to install it? Would I be able to do this using a Mac? I’ve never really done a patch installation before, so any help would be awesome!

    I’d be playing on my PSVita. Would the patch be compatible with the vita?

    Please let me know and thanks so much for making this translation!

    • I am sorry but you cannot install the patch on a Mac. We tested this patch with the PSP, and apparently it does work with CFW Vita (but not through the normal means). Search online for details as I don’t have a VITA to try it. It appears to work on emulators too so you might be able to run it on a Mac (someday).

      • Ah that’s too bad! Do you have any suggestions on what I can do to attempt to get the patch to work? Programs to run it and such? Googling can only give me so much, and there’s all the extra stuff that are just pure rubbish.

      • Can you run parallels desktop on your Mac? If not then you need to borrow a windows based PC to patch your ISO. Do you have Internet cafes? Also just to note, if you bought the PSN version you also need to use a PC to get your original ISO backup of your game.

      • I went ahead and boot camped my mac, so I have a windows operating software.

        I’m looking at the patch and instructions page on the actual patch website, and was wondering if you knew of any helpful tutorials in installing a CFW onto a PS Vita and doing the ISO with a PSN copy. I’m trying to find tutorials, but they’ve been rather scarce.

        Like I said, I’m really new to this whole process and any help you can give me would be totally awesome!

      • This patch was meant for the PSP so to convert the PSN copy you needs to use CFW on a PSP to make it into a ISO. Even a UMD requires a PSP for extraction as far as I know. Once you can get a patched ISO then it is a matter of transferring it to your VITA which needs the CFW related to PSP.
        I don’t have a VITA but the translation website has a link to the website that explains how to add CFW to your ViTA.

      • Ah, so basically, I’ll need to do the patch instructions and apply it to my psp? From there, I take the file that I created on psp and move it to VITA?

        When the CFW on the psp is installed, will it created a plug ins folder automatically or will a Mso://SEPLUGINS need to be manually created?

  5. Hi..I hope it’s not late for me to express my gratitude towards you guys..thank you so much for translating VC3!!! You guys are awesome!! Cheers~

  6. Hello! Hope this isn’t too late to thank you for everything that you guys have done! If it weren’t for all of your hard work, I almost certainly wouldn’t have been able to enjoy the next entry in one of my favorite game series of all time, and for that I am eternally grateful to all of you.

    Did you guys need any help with proofreading the patch as it is now (I believe I’m using v2)? I’m a linguistics buff currently studying language (including Japanese) in university, and I’d be happy to help out with proofreading a few small mistakes I caught in the game. I know there are issues with character counts, etc. that factor into this, but a lot of things I caught were really simple things to fix that shouldn’t impact that at all (e.g. run-on sentences or missing/duplicated words). There were also a few instances of slightly awkward syntax and word choice, but since editing those might be more complicated in terms of text placement and character limits, I would understand if you declined an offer to help. If you guys would like, I’d be happy to help edit some of these things.

    This is of course not to imply that the patch seems of questionable quality or anything (I think that the job you’ve done is absolutely incredible and almost beyond belief); it would simply be to help add some final touches to the work you’ve already done.

    Please let me know if there is anything that I can do to help. Thanks again for everything! The patch is spectacular, and we all really appreciate everything that you’ve done.

    • I will post a bug spreadsheet where you can input text corrections or let us know where the errors are found.
      we are taking a hiatus (no eta on return and it there are some bugs that only our programmer can fix so, but for
      doing corrections editing I think this is possible even without programmer support. HyperInferno is pretty busy these days too and he was managing it the blog site so that is why there has been no news lately. I will post the bug spreadsheet later which has tabs for each chapter of the game, to make it easier to track the bugs and fixes. The problem now is we are all swamped with real life duties that it is hard even to apply changes for a new patch in a timely manner.

      • Gotcha. I completely understand about how busy real life can get, believe me. If there’s any way I can help out though, I’d be happy to do it. 🙂

        I might need a bit of a quick run-through on how the process would work though (or if you know of a good FAQ for this type of thing, you could point me in its direction), but I’d be more than happy to read up on it and help out. 🙂

  7. Keroro said:

    I never leave any comments but… Today i want to thank you for this beautifull translation. It gave me hours of great time which i would not be able to enjoy if not for your effort. THANK YOU

Leave a Reply

